Nobel Peace Prize Honors Women – but not Tunisian Nominees

By Salma Zouari | Oct 7 2011 Share on Linkedin Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google Share on pinterest Print

Tags: leena ben mhenni ,nobel prize ,peace

The Tunisian Blogger and activist Leena Ben Mhenni and the activist and the Tunisian lawyer Radhia Nasroui unfortunately did not win this year’s Nobel Prize for Peace.

Leena Ben Mhenni  showed scenes of violence and repression during the revolution in Regueb and Sidi Bouzid in her blog “A Tunisian Girl“. Leena is known for various awareness campaigns and exposing the repression and dictatorship of the former regime.  She was awarded last April for the prize of the best international blogger by BOBS Deutsche Welle Blog Award.

Ben Mhenni stated that she was notified about the decision of the Nobel Prize committee before getting in a plane to France earlier today.  She declared that last week was a nightmare because of the constant pressure of journalists. This pressure, she added, was why she and her family felt relieved about the decision of the Nobel Committee. She also added that she  knew yesterday that Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, and would be the winner of the Nobel Peace Prize and she is proud that the third winner, Yemen’s Tawakkul Karman,  is from an Arab Country.

Radiah Nasraoui, the second Tunisian nominee,  has been an activist for human rights and against torture in Tunisia for 30 years and was nominated president of the association “Struggle against Torture” in 2003. She went on a  hunger strike in 2003 to protest professional harassment and fight to reach justice as she had been a victim of physical aggression.

This year’s recipients  are Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gobwee and Tawakkul Karman. Sirleaf, president of Liberia, is Africa’s first head of a state to win the award. Leymah Gobwee is a Liberian activist who struggled to improve the influence of women in West Africa. Karman is a Yemeni journalist and an activist who support for human rights and freedom of expression were honored today. The Nobel committee chose the trio  “for their non violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s right to full participation in peace building work.”


Share on Linkedin Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google Share on pinterest