28 March 2012 12:26 pm | | 0

Share     Share       Share     Share  

Tunisian human rights activist and President of the International Federation of Human Rights, Souhayr Belhassan, received on March 27, in Lisbon, the North-South Prize for 2011.

The prize is awarded annually by the European Centre for Global Interdependence and Solidarity to two personalities, who have distinguished themselves by their deep commitment to promote solidarity between the global North and South. The promotion and protection of human rights and the defense of pluralist democracies is one of the criteria considered by the prize committee.

Belhassan was given the award by Portuguese President Anibal Cavaco Silva, for her long history of activism advocating for human rights, in particular those of women in developing countries.

Serbian President, Boris Tadic, was the second recipient of this year’s award “in recognition of his political action for the reconciliation of the Balkans and the integration of his country in the process of European construction.”

Belhassan told Tunisian news agency TAP that she feels delighted to have received this prestigious prize in distinguished company of the likes of Nawal Al-Saadawi and Kofi Annan.

“This award comes at an important moment in our struggle. We saw down an absolutist regime and now we are building free and democratic institutions. This is a tribute to Tunisian human rights activists and to all human rights activists,” said Belhassan.

She emphasized the importance of this award at a unique time when North-South relations are experiencing tensions from both ends.

“In the north, we are now witnessing the shutdown of free circulation, a savage globalization and the settlement of right-wing governments, while in the South, Islamist governments have settled,” she noted.

The 2010 winners were former Brazilian President, Lula Da Silva, and former UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, Louise Arbour.

Source: TAP

Share     Share       Share     Share  

  From the same category


Tunisians Demonstrate Against Racism, Treatment of Blacks

Ministry of Interior Announcement on Niqab Draws Suspicion

Commission to Investigate Human Rights Violations from 1955 to Present

Tunisian Police Arrest Refugees Outside European Union Office


Widows of Chokri Belaid, Mohamed Brahmi Say Killing Gadhgadhi Not Enough

Artists’ Campaign Supports Jabeur Mejri, Jailed for Insulting Islam

Tunisia Commemorates Abolition of Slavery

Constitution Amendment Calls for Gender Parity in Elected Bodies


Billkamcha Campaign Combats Corruption in Tunisia

No Pardon for Jabeur Mejri on Human Rights Day

Remembering Mandela: Leader Inspired Tunisians Resisting Former Regime

Report: Forced Confessions, Unhygienic Conditions in Detention Centers

Leave Feedback

  Follow us

Connect on YouTube Connect on Google+ Connect to itunes Subscribe via RSS Feed

  Latest Videos

Play Video

Motocross Racers in the Forests of Bizerte, Tunisia

Bizerte, the northernmost city in Africa, hosted the fourth round of the...

Play Video

Endangered Whale Brought Ashore in Tunis Suburb

Onlookers in the popular tourist spot of Sidi Bou Said, near Tunis,...

Play Video

'Kima Enti:' Mixing Tunisian Traditions With Modern Design

"Kima Enti" is a hand-made art and design project launched by independent...

Play Video

One-Year Anniversary of Chokri Belaid's Death

On February 6, 2014, family and supporters of slain Tunisian politician Chokri...

Play Video

Klay BBJ explains his arrest

Tunisia Live's Nissaf Slama interviews rapper Klay BBJ on his music, arrest,...

Tabbed Structure - Regular
Tunisian Kidnapped in Libya: ‘They Can Kill Me’...
‘I Too Burned a Police Station,’ Online Activists...
Landfill Grows as Citizens Suffer: ‘We’ve Taken as...
Students Leaving Tunisian High Schools Face Difficult Choice...
Tunisia Starts First Post-Revolution Census...
Israelis Allowed in Tunisia, Prime Minister Announces...
Israelis Allowed in Tunisia, Prime Minister Announces...
Tunisia Starts First Post-Revolution Census...
Students Leaving Tunisian High Schools Face Difficult Choice...
‘I Too Burned a Police Station,’ Online Activists Declare...
Landfill Grows as Citizens Suffer: ‘We’ve Taken as Much as We’re...
Tunisian Kidnapped in Libya: ‘They Can Kill Me’...
Low Turnout and Mixed Feelings for Algerians Voting in Tunisia...
Update: Libyan Kidnappers Demand Militants’ Release...
New Areas Around Chaambi Declared Military Zones...